Revolutionary National Youth League of the Congress for Democratic Change Conducts Elections in Districts 8 and 14

Posted by Administrator (admin) on Jul 20 2015
news >>

View pictures here.

In continuation of its nationwide conventions, a process that is geared towards the reactivation of its structure in the 73 electoral districts in Liberia, the Revolutionary National Youth League (RNYL) of the Congress for Democratic Change (CDC) yesterday July 17, 2015 conducted elections in electoral districts number 8 and 14. Speaking at the program yesterday in district #8, the National Chairman of the Revolutionary National Youth League, Jefferson T. Koijee, used the opportunity to congratulate all Muslims in Liberia and around the world on their successful completion of the holy month of RAMANDAN. He said “I want to use this time to commend all our Muslims brothers and sisters in Liberia and around the world for the successful completion of one of the five pillars of Islam.  For the past thirty days our brothers and sisters in Liberia joined millions of their counterparts around the world to fast from sunrise to sunset.” He stated that even under the canopy of economic difficulties that this government has created for our people, making them not to afford their livelihood to provide for their children, our Muslim sisters and brothers managed to go through these poverty-stricken times in observing their faith. He said “bravo to our Muslims brothers and sisters, you people are one of the sole reasons our country is guided spiritually.”

In another statement, he urged the young people of electoral district 8 to see this as a challenge more than an opportunity, saying that the CDC will have no excuse for 2017 elections shouting with the slogan “Behold…… Our time is now, 2017- The masses victory: A must!!! He said these elections are regular elections that will bring youth leaders from the 73 districts that will serve the Youth League in their respective districts for the coming four (4) years. He urged those that were elected to remain committed and dedicated to the party, reminding them that the Revolutionary National Youth League is the gatekeeper of the party and all of them should start keeping the gate at their various districts, zones and branches. He said they are the ambassadors of the party in their districts.

In separate statements, the Vice Chairman for Political Affairs and Chairman of the Election Committee, Emmanuel T.T Swen, lauded the over 300 hundred young people who turned out to vote their respective leaders.  He emphasized that the process was free, fair and transparent which gave each candidate the opportunity to tell the voters what they intend to do for the party when elected. The process which began with the dissolution of the existing leadership thereby making the 13 elected positions in the district vacant gave opportunity to any Cedecian between the ages of 18 to 35 to be nominated and contest for any position.  Unfortunately there was no nomination on the floor. The process continued with those candidates that registered.  Fifteen persons registered for various positions and those elected were:

·       Beyan Y. Johnson Chairman,

·       Miss Norah Elliot Vice Chairman for Administration defeating Kaifa S. Kamara 115 votes to 91,

·       Kelvin Volar Vice Chairman for Political Affairs,

·       Karweah Gibson Vice Chairman for Operations,

·       Bryant Cheneken Vice Chairman for Finance and Investment defeating Aloysius F. Jackson 123 votes to 117 votes,

·       Yanquoi F. Fumbah Vice Chairman for Legal and Governmental Affairs,

·       Benjamin Bass Secretary General;  

·       Precious Kallon Deputy Secretary General for Administration,

·       Kafumbah A. Donzo Deputy Secretary General for Research and Records,

·       William B. Bright Vice Chairman for International Affairs,

·       Wenwu G. Togbe Treasure, 

·       Ahmad V. Tulay Public Relations Officer, and

·       Morgan Tutu Chaplain General.

       The process was held at the residence of Amb. George M. Weah in Sinkor 9th Street opposite the Justice Ministry. 


In electoral district 14, there was a very huge turnout of young people converging at the party headquarters in Clara Town.  The Vice Chairman for Operations, Janjay Baikpeh who presided over the process was accompanied by the Vice Chairman for Administration Miss Josephine W. A Davies and the Election Commission Chair of the Revolutionary National Youth League Vasco Sumo. The process started with a formal program where the District Coordinator in a remark said , it is indeed a welcoming initiative that the Youth League has embarked on.  He continued that this is the first of its kind in the history of political parties in Liberia for a youth league to conduct nationwide conventions that will elect youth leaders.  Coordinator Myers Beteah welcomed the delegation in the district and promised  that his leadership will overwhelmingly work with anyone who will be elected. The head of the delegation Janjay Baikpeh commended the young people who turned out to vote their respective leaders, he urged them to serve the party with everything they have , stating that they should go all out preaching the doctrine and philosophy of the party to the people.  He added that 2017 is a must win for the CDC. In closing he said that the Revolutionary National Youth League will continue to reach out to other young people who felt disenchanted with some past decisions of the party. He said it is time Liberians come and join the CDC  to make 2017 a victory.

Those elected are as follows:

·       Melvin D. Browne-------- Chairman

·       Victor Jolo -------------- Vice Chairman for Administration

·       Akie Yelleh ------------- Vice Chairman for Political Affairs

·       Handsford Tokpah -------- Vice Chairman for Operations

·       Miatta B. Yates --------- Vice Chairman for Finance and Investment

·       Micheal Pratt ----------- Vice Chairman for International Affairs

·       Moses D. Tweh Jr. ------ Vice Chairman for Legal and Governmental Affairs

·       Jack  A. Toe ----------  Secretary General

·       Brutus Clutiah -------- Deputy Secretary General for Administration

·       Reyes Wolee --------- Deputy Secretary General for Research and Records

·       Georgeline Barclay ------- Treasure

·       Emmanuel T. Fallah ------- Chaplain

·       David S. Doe, II ------------ Public Relations Officer           

Last changed: Jul 21 2015 at 1:25 AM